Visit Komen.org
Lower Your Risk
Prev Thread Prev Thread   Next Thread Next Thread
 Triple Negative-How are you doing?
Change Page: << < ..21222324252627282930.. > | Showing page 28 of 135, messages 271 to 280 of 1341
Rena

• Total Posts : 6649
  • Reward points : 12660
RE: Triple Negative-How are you doing? - Tuesday, August 12, 2008 5:38 PM
Hi everyone, and welcome Diane. How did your oncologist appointment go? I hope you weren't too overwhelmed with information. I haven't been checking in quite as much because I'm so busy with work. August is generally a very busy month because a lot of my clients (I'm an editor) are madly scrambling to finish papers and articles before the new academic year starts. Some of them act as though they have me on retainer and can send me 50-page papers that they want back in a few days. Yikes. I'm trying to get everything done this week. My husband and I will celebrate our 25th anniversary on the 20th, and then the next day, which also happens to be my birthday, I'm flying to NJ to help my sister, who is having surgery the next day. It's NOT cancer, thank goodness! It's not TOO serious, but she lives alone and will have incisions and drains (something we all know too much about), and I don't want her to deal with it by herself.

On the health front, I'm frustrated. After trying a bunch of cholesterol meds and having to stop them due to side effects, I finally started on Pravachol two months ago and was feeling fine. I had blood tests and saw my doctor yesterday. My cholesterol did change--it went UP--and my liver enzymes were completely out of whack!! So now she's sending me to a cardiologist who runs a cholesterol clinic here. I'm baffled and confused and still not 100% sure whether we should believe all the studies about lowering cholesterol. On the positive side, I still have ostepenia, but my bone density improved by minute amounts, so that's good. And I'm still as tall as I was two years ago!! Whoopee! I stopped shrinking!