Lower Your Risk
Prev Thread Prev Thread   Next Thread Next Thread
 Newly Diagnosed
Joanna B

• Total Posts : 1
  • Reward points : 55
Newly Diagnosed - Thursday, November 03, 2016 7:33 PM
Hi all,

I am newly diagnosed with invasive ductal carcinoma.  My last Mamogram was 8 years ago, and I found the lump myself.  I'm really kicking myself for not taking better care of my health, but here I am.  I haven't had a consultation with the Surgeon/Oncologist/Gynocologist that I was referred to, so I really don't know exactly how bad things are.  What do know is that the tumor is  ER/PR pos, and the Her 2 is weakly positive and went out for FISH testing to confirm.   It has been almost a week and still not back according to the Breast Health Navigator at the Breast Health Facility I went to, which is kind of strange, because I know they don't take that long.

It has been a tough week of trying to shepherd myself though the healthcare maze.  I work in a hospital lab, and know the pathologist that read my slides,  so I am very familiar with how things work, and have a bit too much understanding for my comfort. 

I've felt a myriad of feelings, mostly sadness, anxiety and fear of the unknown, but am functioning ok considering.  I'm just trying hang in there until I get a fuller picture of what I am up against.

It is nice to see so many nice people post here.  I'm not typically a message-board type person, but I know the collective wisdom and spirit of this board  will help bolster me in this difficult time.

Thanks for listening, and responding

Joanna
Tricia Keegan

• Total Posts : 19215
  • Reward points : 13520
Re:Newly Diagnosed - Friday, November 04, 2016 9:04 AM
Hi Joanna,